Review: Nail Bar Express by Ashleigh

A friend of mine has recently started her own nail business. So, being the amazing friend that I am (slight sarcasm here – who doesn’t love being a free guinea pig?) I went to try her out and review her.

Ashleigh works out of a lovely hair salon in Edenvale, Johannesburg (so 10 mins from my house – bonus!). I popped along there on a quiet Tuesday morning, to have some gel polish put on for my sister’s wedding.

My bridesmaid dress was champagne in colour, and my bouquet pastel roses, so I needed something to match. Ash had the perfect selection, so I picked a lovely mauve with gold glitter on my ring fingers.

I had the full manicure (Ash has a deal on at the moment, where until December a full manicure with gels is r250). My nails were buffed, my cuticles were pushed back and my nails were thoroughly spoiled, with Ash taking extreme care to smooth my ruined nail beds and make sure the colour stuck properly over my ridges – I pick my cuticles on my thumbs, it’s a terrible habit and I need to stop as it does destroy my nail beds.

My manicure was finished off with a sweet hand massage! Just what I need in the dry Joburg spring.

Don’t they look beautiful? It’s been a week now and they’re still on nicely. My nails, however, have grown stupidly quickly (thank you, pregnancy hormones) so I suppose I’ll just have to go back and get them done again!

Ashleigh works out of Studio 8 hair salon in Edenvale. Her special on manicure is running until December. Her manicure takes an hour for the full treatment, and she uses the Planet Nails range. I’ve included a full price list above. I fully recommend her if you’re in the area!

Leave a Reply

